THE SOUND OF MUSIC- Artistry

Rain Drops on Roses and Whiskers on Kittens, Bright copper kettles and warm woolen mittens. Brown paper packages tied up with strings… these are a few of my favorite things” A lyric that I have heard my whole life and brings a warm glow to my heart. THE SOUND OF MUSIC is one of my favorite movies and always reminds me of my Dad, as it was the first movie he saw in theatres. I grew up listening to the soundtrack and dancing through the living room like I was Maria on the hillside. Running now through May 12th at Artistry in Bloomington, don’t miss this heart warming and wonderful production of this musical theatre classic.

Last time we saw a staged production, my parents and I attended the tour at the Ordway when I was in Junior High but the movie and soundtrack are played endlessly in my house. It was such a joy to see the staged adaption again and remember all the differences from the movie. As in any adaptation, moments are re-imagined, all the songs you know a love are present but may come in an order that will surprise you. This made the whole story feel new to this mega fan and made for lots to talk about during intermission and after the show. 

Directed by Max Wojtanowicz there is a true joy that resonates through each performer and into the audience. Sheena Janson Kelley as Maria is just perfection with a joyful approach to all the scenes with the kids you immediately feel their connection and a lot of little funny moments added in from handing the whistle back to the Captain or interacting with Mother Abbess. There is an honesty and realness she brings to this character with the voice, heart, and comedy to bring new levels to the role of Maria.

Rodolfo Nieto was a dream with a stoic introduction to Captain von Trapp as he whistled and commanded his fleet of children to the moment music re-enters his heart and the façade was dropped. I have seen Nieto primarily in Operas throughout the city and I could listen to him sing for days (made me wish the Captain could sing from the beginning). The rest of the cast features Susan Hofflander as Mother Abbess with a stunning voice that filled the Schneider Theater, Kiko Laureano, Berto Borroto, Phinehas Bynum, Stephanie Cousins, Noah Hynick, Jenny LeDoux, David Lohman, Quinn Masterson, Chris Paulson, Kaoru Shoji, Jillian Sjoquist and Lisa Vogel. 

The have assembled a very talented group of student actors including Junia Morrow (Liesl), Liam Beck-O’Sullivan (Rolf) Tate Ashcraf, Aliya Bailey, Maeve Finn, Joey Lavine, Sam Patterson, Mari Peterson-Hilleque, Frida Ross, Eve Scharback, Ingrid Wolter, Eli Zimmerman and Matea Cordova Stuart as the adorable little Gretl.

Music Direction by Raymond Berg and Choreography by Gabrielle Dominique. THE SOUND OF MUSIC is one of my “favorite thing” so far this year and runs through May 12th. Tickets are selling fast so book yours today.

Leave a comment