THE LION KING Broadway tour at the Orpheum Theatre

My first memory attending a show at the Orpheum was The Lion King when I was in elementary school. I got all dressed up and wore a Nala pin on the lapel of my blazer. I remember sitting in awe of this show which furthermore sparked my love of theatre. Now over 20 years later I got that same glee of excitement walking into the Orpheum to return to Pride Rock. From the first note of “Circle of Life” as a sunrise takes over the stage you are hooked on the magic of this production.

The costumes and puppetry that create the larger than life animals are simply incredible. Entering through the back of the house lion, elephants, birds, and more fill the aisles as we watch the new lion cub being presented to the world. It’s an experience like no-other to watch the large cast bring them all to life and move across the space unable to tell where the actor ends and the animals begins. This artistry is true throughout the entire production and kept me in awe just as I was the first time I saw it. The staged production follows the story of the Disney classic movie but expands it to include a few new songs, updated jokes including one specifically for Minnesota, and expanded the world of the movie to full the entire stage and theatre.

The entire company was superb from the hilarious duo of Nick Cordileone and John E. Brady playing the iconic Timon and Pumba to the hilarious Zazu (Nick LaMedica). I especially loved the young Simba (Julian Villa) and Young Nala (Jaxyn Damasco) who stole the show the entire first act, I was a little sad to see them go at the end of act one. Luckily , and not surprisingly, their adult counterparts Darian Sanders (Simba) and Khalifa White (Nala) were just as fabulous to take us to the finale.

The Lion King first premiered in Minneapolis in 1997 which makes this return feel extra special and why they are here a full month. Running through April 28th, don’t miss your chance to see the magic of Lion King. There is a student rush for students/educators 2 hours prior to showtime. $40 cash only with a valid ID. Tickets and further information.

One comment

  1. I actually don’t remember my first visit with Lion King

    That was why I decided to go a 2nd time- as in 2018 (such a wonderful show and glad we sat in orchestra at the aisle)

    Like

Leave a comment